Reading FAIL

Oh, what has become of my good intentions? This is shameful, truly shameful. The last two months have been an utter reading fail, and I can’t say April was much better. But for the sake of symmetry, here is rundown of February and March:

FEBRUARY
What I meant to read:
The Man Who Listens to Horses – Monty Roberts
The Color of Magic – Terry Pratchett
The Hobbit – JRR Tolkien
This Is How You Lose Her – Junot Diaz
Little Women – Louisa May Alcott (audio)
The Gods of Mars – Edgar Rice Burroughs (audio)

What I actually read:
…..crickets….

MARCH
What I meant to read:
The Man Who Listens to Horses – Monty Roberts
The Color of Magic – Terry Pratchett
A Disorder Peculiar to the Country – Ken Kalfus
Little Women – Louisa May Alcott (audio)

What I actually read:
The Man Who Listens to Horses – Monty Roberts
The Color of Magic – Terry Pratchett

 

Yes, I read zero books during the entire month of February. Zero. How is this possible? In fairness to myself, I was preparing to move, and baseball was about to begin. But these are not great excuses. Most likely I was just not being productive with my free time.

In March, I gave up on anything but catching up with my book club selections (which I didn’t) and finally finishing the infernal Little Women (which I haven’t).

I’m not sure how much I have to say about the two books I did read. Terry Pratchett is no doubt hilarious, in an absurd way that was somewhat reminiscent of Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy (although I like Hitchhiker better – possibly because I prefer sci-fi to fantasy, or possibly because it just is better). I may read more of the Discworld series, but probably only if I can get them on audio. I would like to know what Ricewind’s spell does, and the book ended with a mighty cliffhanger…. or rather a cliff-jump.

But I am starting to think that no sci-fi/fantasy series will ever equal what the Dune books were to me. Ringworld, Discworld, John Carter – none of it is quite the same. (And yes, I recognize all the inherent flaws of the Dune books, but I love them no less.)

The Man Who Listens to Horses was for Skype Book Club. It was nonfiction. I was slightly interesting and slightly boring at the same time. But it did offer me this paragraph, which I think is great, and for which I am glad I read it:

“We stood there, the pair of us, married for 40 years and with grown-up children that hadn’t gone in a straight line at all, and we felt good having achieved our maturity, and we were proud of our memories.”

The end of April is approaching. If I finish The Marriage Plot by next Tuesday (which I can, easy) I will at last be caught up with the book club books. May is coming. It will be a month of reading glory. I swear it.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

